1How do I get a permit to carry a gun in the State of Connecticut?
In order to get a State Permit to Carry Pistols and Revolvers you must first obtain a Local Permit. Out of state residents may apply for a non resident Connecticut State Pistol Permit. Non residents apply directly to the Connecticut State Police. Call 860-685-8494 to have an application mailed out.
2How do I apply for a Local Permit (Temporary State Pistol Permit)?
You must go to the Police Department or First Selectman of the town and get the application. The application has all the instructions necessary to obtain the permit. The cost of the permit is $70.00, and it generally takes eight weeks to obtain.
3What are the minimum firearms training course requirements for pistol permit applicants?
You are required> to complete a handgun safety course, which must consist of no less than the NRA's "Basic Pistol Course," prior to submitting the application. The NRA's "Home Firearms Safety Course" and "First Steps Pistol Orientation Program" are not approved courses.
Live fire is also required. Computer-generated programs, dry-fire, other simulated shooting tools, plastic bullets, air guns or any other alternatives are not acceptable. Students must fire a semi-automatic pistol or revolver. Any questions should be referred to the Special Licensing and Firearms Unit.
4Once I have received a Local Permit, how do I apply for a State Permit?
Instructions to applicants: DPS-769-C
New applicants must provide proof of being legally and lawfully in the United States, such as a birth certificate, or U.S. Passport. Legal Alien Residents must provide Alien Registration numbers and 90-day proof of residency. Naturalized citizens require proof of citizenship.
5How do I change my address on my Pistol Permit?
You can either call (860) 685-8494, E-mail the information to Special Licensing and Firearms Unit or mail a letter to the Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection, Division of State Police, Special Licensing and Firearms Unit, 1111 Country Club Rd., Middletown, CT. 06457. Change of address is required within 2 business day, and the letter should include permit number, name, date of birth, old address, and new address.
6May I keep my Pistol Permit if I move out of state?
Yes, providing you notify the Special Licensing and Firearms Unit of the change of address, and continue to renew your permit.
7How long is a Permit to Carry Pistols and Revolvers good for?
The permit is valid for 5 years from date of issue unless revoked or suspended.
8What does my Connecticut Pistol Permit allow me to do with a firearm?
The permit allows you to purchase, transport and carry a handgun on your person within all legal guidelines of the law. You can find information about Connecticut's statutes regarding pistol permits at: http://cga.ct.gov/2007/pub/Chap529.htm (sections 29-27 throught 29-36l).
9How long will it take from the time of application for me to receive my permit?
State law says to allow 6 to 8 weeks. It also states that if you are notified of a delay, to allow another 2 to 3 weeks, making the total process no longer than 11 weeks from the date you applied.
10If I decide to carry a gun on my person for self-defense, am I required to conceal the gun?
There is no law in Connecticut mandating the gun be carried concealed, HOWEVER, it is stated that if it is carried in plain view, and it causes complaint or alarm, your permit to carry can be jeopardized. For this reason it is recommended any firearms be carried concealed and out of plain view.
11Does my Connecticut permit allow me to carry a handgun in other states besides Connecticut?
In general, your Connecticut permit only allows you to carry a handgun in Connecticut. However, there are some states that offer reciprocal carry privileges to holders of Connecticut permits. For information on states offering reciprocity, go to http://www.moccw.org/map.html
12What is considered an Assault Weapon in Connecticut?
Section 53-202a of the Connecticut General Statutes gives the definition, and an itemized list of what weapons are considered Assault Weapons.